About the hotel
The charming Albergo Quattro Fontane is built on the site where, between 1573 and 1575, follwing the plan of Gian Antonio Rusconi and collaboration of Andrea Palladio, the patrician Daniele Pisani constructed the first and only "casinoon the Lido dedicated to the country delights and learned conversations of the Venetian aristocracy.
During the 19th century this "casinobecame a tavern and the noted English poet Robert Browning was one of its regular customers.... "with Mr. Browning to go to Lido at 11,30 lunch at 4 fontane".
Between 1905 and 1926, a new building, inspired by the "chaletand "cottagestyles, absorbed most of the original structure, but some arches, the big fire-place with its typical lion-shaped mantels and the four slender columns of the dining room were preserved.
The interior of the new inn contained 20th century furniture, some head "boiseries", coffered ceilings decorated with rosettes, valuable candelabra, and wrought-iron lamps which probably come from the foundry of Master Bellotto